Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

@*&%ing Spoofs
2003-03-26 - 11:14 p.m.

Feeling: Disgruntled
Listening to: Poe, one of the CDs I bought because I listened to it first.
Reading/Watching: "Dragons of a Fallen Sun," by Weis & Hickman

I am getting very irritated.

Let me explain something: when I am thinking of buying a CD, I'd like a few days (or even weeks) to sample the music and think about it before spending fifteen bucks. Thus, filesharing is perfect. Ever since Napster was the only thing around, then Morpheus, then Kazaa, it's been my method. I listen to three or four songs off of an album, and if I like them all, I go ahead and buy the CD. The number of CDs I took the risk of owning, pre-Napster, numbered fewer than those I've bought in just the past year. I now have a collection that's nearing 200. It's eclectic, it's a little unusual (most people haven't heard of at least two or three groups in my gigantic CD book), and I absolutely love each one. There are no one-hit-wonders in there.

But thanks to the new "War on Sharers" (ha, I'm funny, aren't I?), there is now a diabolical little creature out there called the Spoof. So although most of my indie groups are still available, since record labels don't consider them popular enough to safeguard, the occasional time I want to download something a little more mainstream, every file I try to download is a screwed up audio file, filled with beeps, or a looped 30-second snippet, designed to make me give up and buy the CD to hear the song.

But it doesn't work that way. I hear the song to buy the CD, not vice versa. And I am also one of the stubbornest women on the face of the planet, once I'm pissed off, so today when I decided to see what the big deal was about this band Evanescence, I downloaded a few titles from their new album, and came up with SPOOFS.

I tried again, and again, and again. My recycle bin has 143 items in it: all spoof files that I deleted once I realized what they were. I am royally aggravated. I'm leaning toward NOT buying the CD now since they're so terrified of evil fileshare pirates stealing their precious pennies so that record label execs can't make billions anymore.

Mrph. End rant.

P.S.- If, sometime around the 24th of May, you suddenly feel the urge to purchase a gift for a tall redheaded girl who will incidentally be turning 21 at the time, please feel free to give her this CD. Although she has disgruntled views against buying it herself, she would not complain if someone else did so.

Comments? 8 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante