Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

"Toothpaste Junkie"- a poem on addiction and Twinkies
2001-05-14 - 11:13 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I've just joined a diary ring. I know, I know. ::slaps wrists repeatedly::

But this one, called Poetica Collab, is about poetry. They suggest a topic, and we write about it without using the keyword except in the title. It's rather cool and might make things more interesting. :)

This month's topic is addiction. And since I have nothing interesting to add today, I shall instead produce a poem that you'll either find humorous or tragic. :) I wrote it to be the latter, but after hearing audiences giggle while I read it, I realized it's a bit wry and ironic...

Toothpaste Junkie
"Brushing teeth after eating
leaves a
fresh feeling
in your mouth
you won't want to eat
again,"
Cosmo says between pictures
of glossy whisper-thin women

Boy that cheesecake
tastes acidic
after Colgate
wash it down with its
fluoride flavor

Five minutes
'til the Pillsbury commercial and a Twinkie
come along.
Brush again.
Tarter control tastes like
punishment
For that bag of M&Ms.

The vinyl dentist's chair
adheres to so much more of
those thighs
than it used to.
"My, you have such clean
white
teeth."

Hee, I happen to like it, thank you. Even if it was originally inspired by a heartbreaking chapter of Ophelia Speaks on eating disorders.

Be back; all this talk of food has brought my attention to the cookies Mom bought on post-Mother's-Day clearance.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante