Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The *Only* Way?
2003-01-19 - 5:29 p.m.

Feeling: Frivolous
Listening to: Dave Matthews Band - "Grey Street"
Reading/Watching: Elyza, by Clare Darcy

Joining an interesting group (along the lines of Poetic-Collab) called The Ampersand Project (ten points if you can remember exactly what an ampersand is).

The topic is "The Only Way You'll Find Happiness" and obviously, they're hoping for lots of those "it's in the last place you look" etc, but you know what? Everything is in the last place you look. You know why? Because once you find it, you stop looking. Duh.

I'm somewhat bothered by the whole idea of there being an only way. There could be a best way or something, but since everything is rarely done the same way twice, let's pray there's not an "only" way.

There are certain things that I can count on to make me happy (and remember, these are for me. It falls under the heading of opinion):

1) Driving on an empty road, letting myself disappear into very loud music. Best if there's something worth looking at out the window.
2) Finding a large, echoing hall and singing in it. Puccini, Dixie Chicks, Les Miz, You're Pretty. Doesn't matter.
3) Putting exactly the right amount of sugar into my tea, or getting a grilled cheese sandwich the perfect shade of golden.
4) Sitting on Bri's couch, talking for hours, and scratching her cat's belly. That kitty is such a flirt.
5) Taking long walks in the evenings with my brother. For a sixteen-year-old, Puppy can sure come out with some pretty brilliant stuff to say.
6) Skipping class to go out for breakfast, or to a movie. Basically reminding myself that there is more to life than school.
7) Flipping through my old Challenge Retreat notebook, reading the letters from all the people there, and praying. Less like a recited prayer, more like me talking aloud and believing that someone is truly listening. I know someone's out there, and it makes me happy. You don't have to believe it if you don't want to, but I've had my proof. It's enough for me.

Basically, it's when I pursue what I know will make me happy, and let go of whatever makes me miserable. There are things in life you *have* to do, and I'm not advocating giving all those up, because hello, where did that get the hippies? However, if you think about how important this or that "crucial" task is, remember how much it matters whether you got a C in Chemistry four years ago, and how clearly you remember walking through the rain singing the rubber ducky song with your best friend when you should have been studying for the quiz.

Keep a sense of perspective. Me, I have a diary to help me. There are so many times I have an entry whining and complaining about something, and the next saying "it's amazing how much better I feel." Happiness isn't something you have to dig out from under a rock. It's something you remember is coming, as soon as you're finished being miserable.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante