Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Loved Like Berlioz
2000-09-07 - 11:35:26

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Ever heard (of) Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique? It's what I'm studying at the moment in one of my classes.

He saw this actress perform Ophelia in Paris, and fell so madly in love with her that he wrote an entire symphony (that one) to "win" her. Hooboy, to have that.

There's this theme that appears in all five movements- some call it the id�e fixe, some call it the Beloved's Melody, some call it the Woman's Theme. But it starts out timid, and then starts racing, tumbling, straining toward these higher and higher, soaring notes that just fly at the end, and slowly drift down again, like a winged beauty racing to a cliff's edge and sailing over. It's really beautiful, when you've heard it intertwined with the rest of the music.

He wrote it all for her.

And I want that. Not necessarily a symphony, (a girl's gotta be realistic, even in the midst of romantic fancy) but I wish I could walk into a room and just one guy would look up and hear that theme in his head, rushing, soaring... it'd be nice.

Of course, the dreadful thing about that is, with the exception of Berlioz, no one ever seems to know about those passionate secret loves except the lover himself. So I could be forty-five before I ever found out that someone loved me once. Loved me like Berlioz.

The upside is I can pretend someone's in love with me right now and I just don't know it...

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante