Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Finally, a work rant.
2006-10-20 - 2:29 p.m.

Feeling: annoyed
Listening to: Tori Amos - Your Cloud
Reading/Watching: Cube Route, by Piers Anthony

Who does Sting think he's kidding, with this maudlin-17th-century-music crap? Worst part is that I've actually sung several of these songs in college (Evelyn and Capt. Dan took me through a John Dowland phase), and hearing him schmaltz and slide, soulfully plucking his little mandolin, whiny and still WAY too modern, is the most depressing thing on earth.

The bookstore actually has his disc playing on the overhead rotation. That, and the one where Tony Bennet does loads of horrible collaborations with overrated R&B and hip-hop "singers". This, cycling over and over while I work eight-hour shifts. I actually look forward to when the 3-disc player gets to the techno, ridiculous "Halloween music" CD, full of pseudo-goth lyrics and third-grade haunted house sound effects, because then at least I'm able to tune it out instead of falling asleep at the wheel or wanting to stab pencils into my eardrums.

Kill me now.

(It's worse because it used to be the Garden State and The Last Kiss soundtracks, rotated with Jack Johnson, who I like in limited quantities. Then, at least I had Frou Frou and Rufus Wainwright to keep me happy and dancing around. Before that, it was The Bangles Greatest Hits, Neko Case, and the new Dixie Chicks, so I was happy as a clam.)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante