Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Cover Story
2006-10-21 - 9:31 p.m.

Feeling: amused, but embarrassed
Listening to: Caedmon's Call - Love Alone
Reading/Watching: Grey's Anatomy, season 1

Private entry before this one. Comment if you actually want the password. Yeah, you know the drill.

For those who don't care for maudlin, I have a funny/weird story: while shopping for mon coeur's new work clothes (he wore the same thing to work every day for the past six years. The man doesn't even have a white button-down shirt), we walked past a guy who looked at me, then turned and followed us.

He walked up and said, "Excuse me, but do you work out at Gold's Gym? Or did you used to?"

My blank look altered into one of wariness. "Uh, yeah. Why...?"

"I've seen your picture on the wall. You were an inspiration to me."

My husband was just grinning, enjoying my embarrassment, so I had to say something. "Thanks... my friend gave me a gym membership as a wedding gift, so I lost weight for the dress."

"Well it worked, and that's why you're still on the wall."

We said goodbye and walked away, and now I'm wondering how long they're going to have my before/after pictures up there until some other before chick becomes an after and I can live in happy anonymity. 'Cause seriously, those "before" pictures are not flattering. I begged my personal trainer not to put me on the wall, but she did anyway (fifty pounds is nothing to sneeze at, I know, and she gets to put that she was my trainer at the bottom).

Although it's still funny to remember when I used to walk into the gym, and I could tell when the desk clerk was new, because they would ask to see my pass, and I was tempted to sneer, "Dude. I'm on the wall."

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante