Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Downsides
2007-03-03 - 10:26 p.m.

Feeling: grumpy
Listening to: The Fray - How to Save a Life
Reading/Watching: Veronica Mars, in a couple minutes.

My brain is exploding slowly and it doesn't seem to much care that my skull would kind of like to remain intact.

Today, working 10:00-7:00 was fun, like trying to sculpt Michelangelo's David with a sledgehammer. I was just groggy and stupid and irritable.

After two hours on the register, I came back to my beloved Children's section, which I had left in what could only be described as pristine condition.

And there had been an avalanche, or something. A series of miniature earthquakes, a flock of tornadoes. There were preschool books, picture books, pop-ups, cardboards, random stuffed animals, scattered and tumbled and emptied all over the everywhere, as if someone had been checking to see what was written on the back of each shelf.

It was entirely fitting that the Grey's Anatomy soundtrack was playing overhead, and Metric's "Monster Hospital" was singing at that exact moment,

I fought the war
I fought the war
But the war won't stop for the love of God
I fought the war
I fought the war
I fought the war, but the war won.

And after today, I need a nap and an Advil, or I might just go get my tubes tied.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante