Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Hypothetically
2010-11-07 - 8:09 p.m.

Feeling: relaxed
Listening to: Portishead - Enough Love
Reading/Watching: textbooks for class

I did not post last night because I was... preoccupied.

Yesterday I took my students who made the cut to their Region Choir clinic and concert, meaning a full day of singing, singing, pizza break, and more singing. The concert was at 3 p.m. and I smiled and clapped proudly and played the clavi for the rhythm section on the finale song.

Then I bombed out of there like my hair was on fire and drove home to pick up Will (who lives with me now, oops I forgot to mention that). We dressed and packed a change of clothes, and drove an hour to see my cousin Marie get married.

...Well, okay, so my work commitment meant that I didn't see the actual ceremony (a fact which really bums me out), but I did get to dance and toast and have dinner with my dad's side of the family, and introduce Will at the same time.

Near the end of the night I grabbed one of my 24-year-old cousins and tugged her aside, demanding, "Where did you get pot?!"

She opened her eyes wide (as wide as she could, anyway) and babbled "I don't know, it's so weird, Kerry gave me this brownie and just said eat it and I did and wow, I am seriously tripping out and can people tell? You can tell? Is it obvious? Does everybody know?"

I can't officially confirm or deny that the events that followed are true. But Will may have hunted down the baker. It is feasible to believe that he picked up two small, seemingly harmless squares of chocolate. Given my lifelong stance of being completely drug-and-smoke-free, it would be very hard to believe that I would be willing to try one.

Very, very hard to believe indeed.

If I had, it surely would have had a very strong kick, since those who tried it tell me it was quite well-made. It probably would have hit me very hard, since I would have been a first-timer. I probably would have been too scared to try it in a public place, and insisted on going home first.

If I had tried it, I might have done crazy things like attempt to explain the way colors and sounds shifted even as I perceived them. There might have been a point where I legitimately believed I was leap-frogging through time and having the same conversation three times, or not at all, traveling forward and back two minutes either direction. I might have done something like struggle to maintain the thread of a conversation, or giggle incessantly at things I saw in my imagination.

If I had done that, Will surely would have had the time of his life watching it. We probably would have laughed our butts off until nearly 3 in the morning.

That might have been a very entertaining night, if I had tried it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante