Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Renaissance Woman
2001-04-05 - 5:36 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

You know, I think I was born in the wrong century. More specifically, I think I was meant to be a girl of nineteenth-century England, possibly gentry. Not nobility (lord, can you imagine the pressure?), but good family, marriageable, all that good stuff.

I've said this for years. Part of what I absolutely adored about *him* was that he said the same thing- that he should have been born in the previous century, too. I believe in taking things slowly, in courting, not dating. Not that I'm some cream puff who expects to be taken care of, but at least in those times spending an afternoon with a man meant he was clearly interested in you. Now people do it as "friends" and it's profoundly confusing.

Beside that, there are many things. What were girls expected to do back then? They studied as children and young teens- languages like French, German, Spanish, Latin, etc, they learned arithmetic (not horrendous nightmare theorems, just enough to be used in daily life), and a bit of science, but mostly they learned to read, to write, to speak as many languages as possible, to play piano or some other musical instrument, and to sing. I'd have been the belle of the ball.

What I wouldn't give to spend my day learning languages and poetry, and entertain at little parties by playing the piano (which I already do) or singing (which is my MAJOR, for goodness' sakes). And considering what they called pretty, I'd be A Beauty. I have the curly hair, the pale but clear and rosy complexion, and the figure, dangit! Nowadays I'm rather plump. Back then I'd be a Nonpareil. Especially with a corset. :)

And that's another thing- the clothes! God, some of those dresses... considering how much I hate shorts, they'd be perfect for me. I got to wear the dress of a woman in 1903 for The Cherry Orchard, and it looked so nice. :) Not to mention how dignified yet graceful a Gibson Girl hairstyle looks on pretty much any woman.

The one hiccup, though, is the whole arranged-marriage thing. When I Came Out I'd have to be stubborn enough (which wouldn't be hard, hee hee) to stick it out for someone I loved. I could be witty and particular and reject barons and dukes alike while I waited for The One through two, perhaps even three Seasons.

Eee, I especially love how they capitalized Important Words, too!

There's another small hiccup, though- I might be so intelligent and bookish I'd be branded a bluestocking. Then not many men would be interested in me, and I'd have to spend life as a governess (a.k.a. teacher, which is... wait, that's the OTHER half of my major!) and...

Hey, you know what? Teleport me now.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante