Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

First Day
2006-07-16 - 10:10 p.m.

Feeling: excited
Listening to: Blue October - A Quiet Mind
Reading/Watching: The Grieving Tree

Reasons Why Employment is Better Than Financially Secure Unemployment:

1) The dress code is essentially the same (except no cutoffs or open-toed shoes, which I've never been fond of anyway).

2) There are only so many seasons of Buffy, Friends, and Gilmore Girls on which one can waste one's time.

3) Earning $200 a week on a steady basis is much, much better than earning $300 one week, $50 the next week, $0 the following three weeks, $120 after that...

4) My first day, I had a time card. And a nametag on a lanyard. And a locker (on the top row! whoo!), and a mug. All with my name on them.

5) Filling my bigass personalized mug at the caf� costs me twenty-seven cents.

6) Surprisingly enough, pajamas get uncomfortable if you wear them for too long.

7) There is nothing more motivating to an aspiring novelist than to work in a place filled with glossy dust jackets of people who actually made it happen.

8) 33% off. I repeat: thirty-three percent off.

9) Co-workers who make the same jokes I do are far more amusing than voices in my head who do.

10) Sitting at home, I have time to look around my place and decide what I need to buy to make it look nicer. I also have time to go out and buy it. And if I'm going to be in a bookstore for thirty-two hours a week, at least I get one-third off the things I want to buy there.

Orientation today. My boss wore jeans and tennis shoes. My co-workers all knew my name when I walked in. I earned $19 learning how to work a cash register (instead of spending $40 in Yankee Candle Co). I was told that often, the managers like to give out promo books and CDs to employees who are doing a good job.

Things are off to a good start. I don't even need new clothes.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante