Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Hot Pink Food
2006-07-17 - 7:08 p.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: Blue October - Drilled a Wire Through My Cheek
Reading/Watching: --

The reason I love my husband is because he is as adventurous as I am (and then some).

He doesn't want to skydive or try base-jumping. He doesn't want to run with the bulls at Pamplona or get a pet lion.

But he loves to try new food, and he loves weird Asian food. The more authentic, the better. We rarely order the same thing twice, unless it was just so amazing that we specifically crave it. And today, when we tried new things at the Thai place we love, my soup came with strange slices of something with a pink edge around it. Neon pink, meaning definitely not born in nature.

I held it up. "What is this?"

He eyed it. "Some kind of turnip?"

"Never seen a fucshia turnip before... want to try it?"

He leaned forward and obediently opened his mouth, and I hunted down another one to try myself.

I chewed. Consistency of tofu, seafood-flavored, definitely processed out the bejeezus, if the hot-pink ring around it is any indicator. "Hm. Maybe this is what they meant by fish-cake."

He nodded. "Probably. It's not bad."

See, I have a husband who will eat the Unidentified Pink Food. He even went for the weird sticky-rice dessert with mango slices (which, by the way, was awesome). Nobody on earth is as lucky as me.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante