Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Budgeting Out Loud (pay no attention; it's dull)
2004-11-29 - 5:11 p.m.

Feeling: deflated
Listening to: Dashboard Confessional - Hold On
Reading/Watching: ...

All the time I was planning next year, I kept thinking about how wonderful it will be to have all day to write, how I'll finally be able to get to all the things I miss, how I'll finish the book and sell it and spend the year in Schoolville with the people I love, possibly travel, drive around the country and see things I've never seen, like the Midwest and New England and hell, explore the deep South...

And then I remember that after this year I'll be missing approximately 600 dollars a month, once I'm not getting the refund for living off campus or doing work study anymore.

It's not the best time to spend up savings.

It is unlikely I will find a part-time job that pays $8-12K a year, unless I pick up at least 15-20 voice students right after graduation. So I'm beginning the hunt for choir director positions at churches around town, which tend to be salaried part-time jobs anywhere between 5 to 15 thousand a year, if you have the right credentials.

That's what it all centers around, the right credentials. This is why I definitely want to go to graduate school, because music jobs are few, but lucrative. (Sigh, I wish there were a few religious groups that wanted musicians on days other than Sunday... the synagogue is only for one season out of the year.)

I'll probably also hunt for a basic entry-level clerical job until I get on my feet. And I'm taking on voice students. Anyone who wants a good teacher, give me a call.

But I'm still determined to make time to write. It's just going to be... a bit less than I'd thought.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante