Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Not Coming Down
2005-09-05 - 6:18 p.m.

Feeling: musical
Listening to: You're Pretty - Breakthrough or Breakdown
Reading/Watching: magazines... strictly short-term reading time

I have decided that I want to resurrect my old practice of making personalized mix CDs for everyone. It's just fun, and I've been planning mixes for a bunch of different people: Bear, Persephone, Lynne, possibly Krynn.

It seems like everyone around me is going through huge transitions in their lives, and songs leap to mind that I want to play for them, or quote to them. I used to do it all the time, just to share interesting music with everyone. And sometimes, like when I made them for Bri, Satan, and Miller, some of the songs had a specific message, cushioned among fun songs that were just cool to listen to.

Hell, sometimes it's my way of rambling my opinions at someone without their knowing.

Tomorrow, my kick-ass sister Bear is flying to her new job in California to do some truly ambitious things, and earn beaucoup de benefits. The entire time I drove home from visiting her this weekend, I had a song circling in my head. So I'm going to put the song on a mix CD for her, but since it won't arrive in her mailbox for several days, I'll quote the lyrics here for her:

Not Coming Down, by You're Pretty

She takes in a breath and prepares to leave
She can't believe that she is going
This town has done all it can for her
She hears her dreams calling
She's packed and the taxi is waiting
She knows it's a chance that she is taking
She turns to her friends and says,
"I hope that it is worth it."

Look at me, I have wings
I am soaring
And I'm not coming down

The window is down the radio is turned up
The radio drowns out the voices
The voices in her head, they say that she is crazy
That she is heading for a wall
She's packed and the taxi is waiting
She knows it's a chance that she is taking
At least she should try, 'cause there is
More to this life than getting by

Look at me, I have wings
And I'm soaring
And I am not coming down

I'm not coming back
All that I need is one chance
And you can laugh if I fail
But I know I won't.

She's packed and the taxi is waiting
She knows it's a chance that she is taking
At least she should try, 'cause there is
More to this life than just getting by
And having to survive

Look at me, I have wings
And I am soaring
And I'm not coming down

Side note: I decided the lovely surplus from my paycheck gave me permission to shop the clearance racks at Target, and get myself some pants and shirts for exercising. I got all apey and took 18 items to the dressing room. The clerks only allow six at a time, so I did three runs of trying on things, putting what I hated on the Reject Rack and what I loved in a neat little folded pile. I took home three shirts, two pairs of pants, and splurged on one cute little frilly white skirt that was $10. It came to $52 including tax, but I still felt decadent and wealthy and did a happy little squee about omgnewclothes!

Next week, I might completely lose all attempt at budgeting and replace my black falling-to-pieces loafers with new ones from Payless, if I'm feeling risky.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante