Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Math is Hard
2005-10-17 - 1:51 a.m.

Feeling: annoyed
Listening to: video game music. hrm.
Reading/Watching: Elizabethtown. Verdict: meh... patchy.

Know what sucks most about weight loss?

The math.

Every day, I wake up, eat my sensible (or sometimes, not very sensible) meals, go to the gym three or four times a week, and go to bed at night.

But in between, I have to count the calories of every single thing I've eaten all day. And that takes some math. I'm always looking up the calories of different foods online or in the handy little (i.e. annoying) booklet the nice sadistic math-loving people at the gym gave me, and then adding them all together with a pocket calculator. It's tedious, it keeps me aware of exactly how badly I screwed up when I went for movie popcorn, and it's a solid ten minutes every day of math.

Math doesn't frighten me or anything--I got a 680 on the math portion of my SAT in highschool--but it still has the power to annoy the crap out of me, because there is nothing exciting or creative or even constructive about that much addition and multiplication, replicating the same cursory skills every day. It is just time that is wasted, when I could have been out writing a symphony or something (or, at the very least, watching some Buffy reruns).

So, along with all the things I have decided will change on my wedding day (eat cake without worrying, have something fried for once, order a mixed drink without analyzing everything that went into it), I have added one more item to the list. On my wedding day, all calorie-based math will cease. Forever.

And that will truly be something to celebrate.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante