Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Reason #43
2008-01-15 - 8:53 p.m.

Feeling: positive
Listening to: Death of Cool - Class For Miles
Reading/Watching: Hope Floats (don't mock; I needed something sappy)

I just realized: I spend too much of my time telling people the horrible stories of my rotten students who apparently never had parents or learned manners or bought something instead of stealing it.

So tonight, I will celebrate my good kids. I will celebrate the ones I keep this job for- the ones I would feel seriously lousy for ditching if I left.

Aside from the girls who come into class excited to see me, asking if they can help me organize things or alphabetize or collate music pages or staple things or take attendance, there are the boys who give me the cool-kid upnod and say, "'Sup, Miss March?" and hold out their fist in greeting.

(See, my awesomeness skyrocketed once I demonstrated my knowledge of gangsta handshakes. P.S. I love that my twelve year olds think they're sooo badass.)

I have a sixth-grader who busts his ass every day to stay on top of what we're learning in music theory, volunteers answers whenever I'll let him, asks intelligent questions, sings enthusiastically (if not always well), and has the air of a sage, world-weary grandpa, despite being eleven and four-foot-two.

Today, I saw him with a WWF magazine, and when I commented on his reading choice, he said "I'm gonna do this someday!" (I curbed the urge to ask, 'What, write magazines?')

Because you just know he'll hit thirteen and shoot up a foot and a half. Now granted, that would still only make him 5'8", but that kid can do anything. And he is reason #43 for why I want to keep this job.

So there. Someday I'll look back on this year and laugh. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

(It'd be nice if I could get my voice fully back, though. I go to see the ENT and get my endoscopy on Monday- pray he finds nothing down there.)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante