Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Reunion (or Semi-union)
2004-08-11 - 11:56 p.m.

Feeling: left behind
Listening to: Finger Eleven - Quicksand
Reading/Watching: Before Sunrise

It's very strange, when you're in the midst of a conversation with someone and realize it is not a conversation, so much as an interview.

I contacted an old friend from highschool (actually, it was my very first unofficial boyfriend, Chris, so often mentioned in my first few dozen entries), and he responded quickly and enthusiastically, saying he was so happy to hear from me, remarked on what a long time it had been, and I asked what he'd been up to.

An hour and a half later, he's still telling me what he's been up to. I'm interested, of course, because I've missed him and would love to hear how his life is going, and as always, he has such a sweet, funny way of saying things, so formal and old-fashioned at times (goodness, I seem to love those types, don't I?), so I'm enjoying myself immensely until I realize he hasn't asked a single question in return.

I'm not sure if this could be considered selfish or narcissistic, but shouldn't an old friend be as equally interested in what's going on with me, rather than just filling me in on his life? I'd assume he was just finishing up and that he'll ask any minute now, but he just finished his tale and said it was late and he should go, and we exchanged phone numbers, and he still doesn't even know whether I've graduated or not.

It's odd. I loved talking to him, but now that it's over, it feels lopsided. Shouldn't he have at least asked the typical questions, like where am I living now, am I still in school, have I had a sex change or become a tattooed motorcycle chick?

Mrph. Perhaps I'm making something out of nothing. In any event, I'm glad to have his phone number (Lynn, I'd be happy to pass it on to you), and I'm hoping to open the lines of communication and rekindle the close friendship we had in highschool.

And now I'll do what I did on LiveJournal: keep track of the number of pages I have written for my thesis. Right now, the count is 9 out of a recommended 50. We'll see how the next few days go.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante