Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Melange
2005-01-19 - 12:50 a.m.

Feeling: squished (but hopeful)
Listening to: the typical stressed-out music: early Evanescence
Reading/Watching: Tortilla Soup

I was really hoping that I would think of something witty by the end of the day, but alas... I'm still witless.

Instead, I am catching up on the e-mails, LJs, and other blogs that I haven't read in over FIVE DAYS OMGWTFR2D2, and staving off panic when I'm already getting reminders to sign up for the Senior Project Poster Fair and have my (completed) thesis ready to be presented.

One thing at a time. Synagogue job. Recital. Valentine Cabaret (for which I auditioned today; story forthcoming). Then thesis. It's all about order of immediacy.

So yes, today were (early) auditions for the cabaret, and I came armed with... me. I worked out the complete chord progression a matter of days ago, and so just sat there playing banal broken chord patterns while warbling the tune on top, to give at least an idea of how the song will sound when it's actually performance-ready in three weeks. They said it felt long and slightly boring, and could I cut it from three verses down to two?

Considering how emotional I tend to get over songs, I'm glad I didn't freak out and get defensive, but still, I'd made it clear that the piano transcription from guitar was rusty, and it was a working version. Sigh. I even e-mailed Kate Callahan months ago to ask her about obtaining the chord progression, or sheet music, but she said she didn't write with knowledge of chords. Nevermind the rockingness of the fact that she actually replied, I was still left to do it on my own, and composition (or learning entirely by ear) has never been my strong suit.

Oh well. Here's hoping the sheet music for "Harbor" comes in time (although the Vienna Teng website says the order hasn't been shipped yet).

Mon coeur's gift came in the mail today (first anniversary coming up; I'm choosing to make it a big deal), packed in a box that once apparently housed a case of Girl Scout cookies... Lemon Pastry Cremes, to be exact. I think that's an extinct cookie now, but anyway I found the box hilarious. The actual (non-cookie) contents of the box, however, will have to remain a mystery, since he reads this journal and (obviously) I want it to be a surprise.

Bri and I have been in search of cheap forms of amusement for a while now, since our current trend of eating and drinking my savings away in restaurants and clubs is no longer acceptable. Since inviting her over for dinner (which would be virtually every night) and letting her eat the entire contents of mine and Nimsay's pantry is also not an option, we were at an impasse.

Then she had a brilliant idea. From now on, our Hanging-Out-Thing will be Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She has not seen the vast majority of the series, and I now own all seven seasons on DVD, so it seems like the perfect plan.

Yay, happy for cheap calorie-free fun.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante