Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Cajones for a Safety Net
2005-01-21 - 12:36 a.m.

Feeling: relieved
Listening to: Rufus Wainwright - Danny Boy
Reading/Watching: not nearly enough

I am so proud of Bri.

Eleven months of secret (but not silent) pining, and finally she scrapes together the guts to tell The Boy. Nimsay and I had to practically bully her into it (I said "either tell him now or decide that you will never tell him, but decide and then shut up about it"), but she just spent three hours in my living room, combing through every nuance of the hour-long conversation she had with him, in which he said he hadn't thought about it before, but that he would. He did not seem averse to the idea.

I'm just so relieved that he didn't try to go for the immediate nice-guy let down. That one sucks more than a guy laughing outright and saying, "Date you? You're joking, right?"

This has the potential to be very tearful down the road, or very wonderful. All I have to say is, in my life, I have told seven or eight guys that I liked them. One dated me but never kissed me. One told me he was repulsed by me. One broke my heart outright and then flirted ridiculously for months. Two avoided me, two gave me the nice-guy let down.

And one was already in love with me, and just didn't know it yet. The way I figure, it's worth it in the long run.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante