Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Great victory never exists without risking great defeat.
2004-02-14 - 4:37 a.m.

Feeling: Risky
Listening to: Finger Eleven - One Thing
Reading/Watching: nothing

It must have snowed (or sleeted) while we played D&D in Ray's room. I walked to my car breathing in magnificent air that echoed all the way to the bottom of my lungs.

I must have still been a little drunk on the silliness of the evening... we ended it talking about ridiculous things, as we always do (last time, an entire half hour was devoted to quoting The Princess Bride). I drove home, my mind only halfway there. Focused on other things, like touching knees and slow smiles and that panicked "waitwaitwait" curled in my stomach.

Landed at my computer, and had to write. What song instantly came up on my playlist? "Breath of a Dream," by Kate Callahan. The song that's been haunting me lately. Prophetic? Perhaps. Read the lyrics and decide for me:

There's too much smoke in this room.
Do you want to go home?
Home is my place and I want you to be
In my place with me.

But you know me so well
You know well what I'd do-
You'd fall asleep in my bed
And I'd sit next to you.

I believe that love breaks time,
all this time I have spent breaking up
and breaking down.
But the reward we look toward is the reward we'll see
When we finally choose to settle down.

Do you know me that well?
Do you know what I do,
When you fall asleep in my bed
And I sit next to you?

And I can't sleep �cause
I'm so used to breathing alone.
And I can't speak 'cause you're
Breathing the breath of a dream.
And if I could sleep I'd dream
Of a friend who I trusted and I loved
and I could kiss 'til I
Finally fell asleep...
Well I trusted and I loved
And I could kiss �til I finally fell asleep

And remember when you knew you
Would finally meet the right one
When you stopped ever
Keeping up the search?
Well the search ends with
A good friend who has always
Been around, bringing pieces of
Your heaven down to Earth.

If you knew me that well
You'd know just what to do.
You'd sit up with me in this bed
So I could get to know you too.

And I can�t sleep
�cause I�m so used to breathing alone
And I can�t speak
�cause you�re breathing the breath of a dream
And if I could sleep I�d dream
Of a friend who I trusted and I loved
And I could kiss until I finally felt
I trusted and I loved and I could kiss
And I could kiss, and I could kiss and I could kiss
�til I finally fell asleep...

If you knew me that well
You'd know just what to do.
You'd sit up with me in this bed
So I could get some sleep too.

Why am I scared to post this? Why do I have to post this anyway? Because I'm an idiot. So I'm doing it now, to spite myself. My entire stomach is rattling like maraccas. Ha, Katie, your clicky finger has more chutzpah than the rest of you put together.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante