Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Compared To
2003-01-06 - 9:53 p.m.

Feeling: Hollow
Listening to: The Hives - Hate to Say I Told You So
Reading/Watching: The Hours... it's entrancing.

It is easy to say someone is brave if they've never known true fear. You may not scream in a haunted house or cringe at a movie, but how would you fare if someone held you up at gun-point?

It is easy to say someone is strong if they've never suffered trials. Sure, you can hug a brokenhearted friend. When have you faced your own heartbreak?

It is easy to say someone is talented in their hobbies if they are surrounded by those who follow different pursuits. You're only a good singer in a family that specializes in biology majors.

It is very easy to say I'm pretty if I start seeking out the flaws in everyone I see. It makes me ugly inwardly, but I'm guilty of it, same as anyone.

It is easy to be considered pure if you've never been tempted. I was pure for twenty years. When confronted with someone I truly desired, I turned out to be mortal after all... though maybe a little more afraid than most.

It is easy to be intelligent when you compare yourself with fools. I'm a genius, compared to any person who has ever set foot on Jerry Springer.

It is easy to be bold when the most challenging thing you've ever had to do is confess a crush to someone. It is easy to call myself daring, simply because I blurt out the contents of my mind without forethought. But my chagrin knows differently.

It is easy to say I am broken, scarred. Because I don't know what it's like to truly be scarred. Yes, I was an unpopular little fat girl when I was a kid. But Harry had wrists like chinese checkers- a frightening network of lines and circular burns. I cried over them, kissed them. But I never felt their infliction.

In moments of empowerment, I've called myself many of the above things. Sometimes all of them. It's only on nights like this when I see those superficial adjectives for what they really are- breath and empty conviction. Nothing more.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante