Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

(no subject)
2003-01-08 - 12:58 p.m.

Feeling: improved.
Listening to: Badly Drawn Boy - "Camping Next to Water"
Reading/Watching: The Hours: "How could someone who was able to write a sentence like that come to kill herself?"

Quote of the day, from Andrew, D-land Grand Poobah: "Someone accused someone else of being 'too stupid to write online' and I just keep thinking, isn't that like being too fat to eat donuts?"

Lala is hoping her roommate will be better this semester. I promise you, dahlink, it can't get much worse than your Anger-Management-Challenged Chick. It reminds me of that semester I lived with Bri, where I had to keep reminding myself, She's going through a lot right now, just don't lose your temper.

...In fact, the reason the two of us squabbled so much more this semester than we ever have, and yet were closer than ever, is because she was similarly prickly, but this time I stood up for myself and yelled back. We'd have huge blow-outs, but we were still inseparable. And the good definitely, definitely outweighed the bad. So if someone's your true friend, remember that an argument will improve the relationship, not end it.

Two mediocre life details: the ENT yesterday said I'd had tonsillitis. Somehow, not a big surprise. The surprise, he said, is that I'm almost over it, entirely on the strength of my own immune system. So woo for me. He couldn't check my vocal cords, since they were inflamed from coughing, but I have an appointment in a month. He comforted me greatly, saying my voice sounded too even to have nodules just yet, but I should rest and be careful.

Also got a check-up on my contacts, and turns out they over-prescribed me. They dialed down the nearsighted correction, and there's no more re-focusing on middle distances! Yay!

I tried on a new pair in the same room as before, and behind me I heard a woman exclaiming in frustration as she poked her eye for the twentieth time, "God, how can I get them to stick?"

I grinned, and slipped mine in on the first try.

I bought a weird little pair of tortoise-shell sunglasses, my first pair ever. They're cat-eyed, like a fifties film, and all the other styles I tried on just looked comical on my face. I keep glancing over the tops of them and smiling, barely curving my lips at my rearview mirror. $5.99, and I feel like a movie star.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante