Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

OhmyGod.
2001-11-28 - 8:26 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

"I want to tell him, but I'm such a chicken. I am, I'm a big stupid chicken, aren't I?"

"Yup, pretty much." I love Victoria. She's so brutally honest. "You'll never know if you don't say it."

"But he goes for the cute little girls, not me."

"Well you're a cute tall girl."

"Shut up."

"Sorry." Her mocking grin faded reluctantly.

"Anyway, I can't tell him right now. He's in there practicing piano and talking to some guy. I definitely can't tell him in front of someone else."

I finally saw a flash of sympathy. "I really wish I could help you; I want to know what he'll say as much as you do, after all this suspense."

"Do you think I'm crazy?"

"Not after getting used to the idea- you two would be cute together."

"But I'm taller than he is!"

"So? You're the one with the crush on him, don't try to tell me why it won't work." She laughed, even as I moaned and buried my head in my hands.

Finally I heard the back door open to the practice room. The other guy and Sam were leaving. I offered them both smiles as they walked past, talking. The one guy left to brave the November cold. Sam didn't; he sat at the table next to me, not saying anything.

Victoria quickly murmured, "I need to go to the bathroom."

I sat in silence for a minute, thinking, Victoria is going to die... if I live through this.

Sam turned to me in impatience. "So, who is it? C'mon, you said you'd tell me."

I'd drawn out the suspense, maddening him slowly with little hints here and there, until he knew three things: it involved a girl, she was part of the music department, and she had a crush on him.

I started putting on my coat to beat a hasty retreat. But I'd sworn not to leave the building until I told him. So as I slipped on the sleeves, I hedged. "Well, I'm not sure whether you guessed already or not. Seems like you would already know."

"Nuh-uh, I'm a moron," Sam grinned self-deprecatingly, holding up both hands with that mock-wild look in his eye that always cracks me up. "I know nothing. I just play the saxophone. I'm really stupid. You have to tell me."

I fought the urge to clear my throat (it was so clich�). "Well, the girl who likes you is me." I didn't even pause to let him digest the information, looking at the table between his hands as I got to my feet, pulling on my backpack. "It's not a huge deal, I don't expect us to be perfect or anything-"

He laughed at that, and I finally looked at him, and he was half-smiling.

"And if you want to just be friends I'm totally fine with that- we can pretend this never happened. Just wanted to let you know."

He definitely looked surprised. And yet not revolted. This is already an improvement over last year with Charlie Brown.

Passed the bathroom and hissed, "Victoria, I am going to kill you." I think I heard her laugh. I hate her; she's such a good friend.

(Let me take one moment to crumble weakly at the knees and gasp, "OhmyGOD.")

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante