Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Love Bravely
2000-11-22 - 10:13:51

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Today I saw something we consider commonplace, but when you think about it, it's actually really neat.

I was walking out of class this morning, and saw a little girl- a toddler- wriggle out of the arms of whoever she was with and go running headlong toward someone else approaching down the path. The girl just squirmed free and tumbled over with all her two-year-old might into the embrace of the young woman who scooped her up and twirled her around.

Little kids are so cool like that. They never make any secrets about who they like and who they don't. If they like you, they dedicate all their energy to showing it. If they don't, it's plain as day. Why can't grown-ups be that cool?

When did it become cool to conceal our emotions in the first place? It shouldn't be that crazy of an idea to just run up and hug someone you're happy to see, even if you see them every day. Showing affection is usually what brings people closer together. Everyone needs to be needed, and if someone shows you that they need you, how is that bad?

It's not that bad between best friends. Friends feel comfortable enough to say hey and greet with a hug every now and then- at least now that I'm among mature, secure-in-their-appearances college students. But what about other people? Crushes are the worst. Why do people think it has to be such a huge mystery? When a friend confides a crush in me and I say the simple words, "Tell him," she looks at me like I've grown two heads.

What is the absolute worst that could happen? That he laughs at you? If he does, you don't want him anyway. You can never go wrong by letting someone know you care about them unless they're not worth having in the first place. It doesn't have to be someone you like like; the rules are universal. The hardest thing in the world to resist is someone who cares about you. And the neatest thing in the world is a just-because hug- at least in my opinion.

I could be totally off-base. I often am. But that's how I feel today. That's what I noticed. Kids aren't afraid to show how they feel- why are we?

Yes, liking someone can be scary. Loving someone is downright terrifying. It's not love if you're not afraid, and it's not courage until you feel the fear.

Love bravely. I think that's going to become my motto soon. Don't be scared to show what's in your heart, no matter who you're showing it to. The worst that can happen is we'll get to know each other better. And is that really bad?

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante