Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Being Varya
2000-11-28 - 21:59:16

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Well, I am officially protected against flu. Darned shots. Those women seem to like punching the needle as hard into your arm as possible.

I auditioned for The Cherry Orchard today, and I think I did well, though CB pointed out I have a habit of keeping my head down when I'm reading instead of elevating the script in front of me and projecting more.

I still want to be Varya. If you're interested in reading the script, there's a copy on the 'net at http://eldred.ne.mediaone.net/ac/chorch.htm . I just like her. Even more so in the particular translation we're using.

Charlie Brown did himself proud today. He's got a charisma that doubles when he's on stage. It's like he's more at home there than anywhere else. Maybe I'm biased, but he was the best one at the audition today. Even though at one point, playing an overzealous student, he stacked the set blocks (wooden cubes used as chairs) on top of each other and stood on top of them as if lecturing... it was a bit much, but good for a laugh. :) I guess you can never try too hard when it comes to acting- better to overshoot than undershoot.

I want this play to happen the way I'm planning it in my head. I want it so badly it scares me, because when I want something like that, it ineveitably goes horribly awry.

Case example: when I had a solo in a concert set for this weekend, and my parents were going to drive up to see the concert and then take me home with them for the weekend. It was going to be perfect. Then the Friday night performance was canceled, and since I was sharing the solo with another girl, we were down to one performance on Sunday night and she got it b/c she's better than me and my parents couldn't drive 200 miles on a Sunday night, anyway, so there was no point in fighting for a solo that no one will care to listen to me sing anyway. Grr. That was one of my more pessimistic days. It felt like I'd gotten foolishly happy with myself again and life decided to trip me up a bit just to make sure I remembered how much things are supposed to suck for me.

Anyway. On the upside, my handicapped friend is moving on campus, and wants me to room with her, so we'll have a nice big upperclass dorm room. :) Neat-o mosquito. We visited the dorm today, and even though I won't be on the fourth floor anymore, I still got my exercise pushing her chair uphill back to the main building afterward, because the new dorm is much further away and she's not exactly a featherweight... ahh my legs hurt.

But it's late and I still have homework to do, and clothes to fetch from the dryer downstairs. :) Good night!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante