Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Dante Needs a Buddy
2009-10-04 - 6:13 p.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: Havdalah recordings from Neilah
Reading/Watching: research for my presentation Tuesday

My next-door neighbors have two forty-pound lab mixes, so we've been talking off and on about arranging a play-date for them with Andante.

Yesterday, I was helping a friend move, and it was very rainy and gross outside, so I couldn't let him play in my backyard. I thought it'd be cruel to kennel him all that time until we finished, so I brought him next door and we finally introduced them.

I picked him up six hours later, and he'd gotten so muddy (even in their backyard, which is covered in lovely green grass) that they gave him a bath. So he was clean, and happy, and so tired he walked in the door and immediately collapsed on the rug, where he stayed most of the night. He was even limping, a little, from hours of intensive tumbling around.

This morning he went outside in the front, did his business, and immediately walked to the neighbors' front door and began whimpering. It was like a little kid going over to see if his friend can come out and play. So cute.

It does, however, make me think that perhaps I need to get him a buddy. He must get lonely on the long days, when I'm gone for up to twelve or thirteen hours with work and class. The only issue is affording another dog, since I know it's more than just food and toys. So still with the waiting.

But if anyone knows my address and would like to donate to the "Dante needs a buddy" fund, I would not return to sender. ;)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante