Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Oops
2002-08-25 - 5:59 p.m.

Feeling: Remorseful
Listening to: Weezer - Jamie
Reading/Watching: The Unknown Ajax, by Georgette Heyer

I was driving to church this morning, feeling proud for getting out of my dorm on time (it always seems that something happens), when I heard a thud.

I glance over, and to my horror, I see a bird lying in the trough between my window and my hood.

I pulled over as soon as possible, feeling a little bit sick, because I have never hit an animal before. I've even done everything but drive off the road to avoid hitting anything that was once alive.

The way the bird was lying, wings folded, sideways along the bottom of my windshield, I figured that it didn't fly into my window, but just fell from above and hit it. Maybe it was diving for something on the ground, or fell out of a tree, already dead (which made me feel marginally better).

I knew it couldn't stay on my car, but I didn't want to touch it, even after I knew it was definitely dead, for fear it might have died from some kind of disease.

I was almost in tears when I hunted down a stick and very carefully tipped it off the edge of my hood and it flopped onto the ground. Practically every bone in its little body was broken.

I got back in Luna and drove off. When my sister and I were little, we used to have shoebox funerals for birds we found on the street. Remembering that, I did start to cry. I wonder if some little girls are going to find it and do the same thing.

That's all... I cheered myself up watching Am�lie after church (it's SO good; watch it), but I still can't get the bird out of my head. I'd feel better if I knew why it fell.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante