Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Queen of Useless Information (well, half of it)
2002-08-27 - 10:12 p.m.

Feeling: Inadequate
Listening to: Weezer- In the Garage
Reading/Watching: Moli�re's "Tartuffe" (it's for English, don't go thinkin' I'm all cool or anything)

Do you know how much utterly useless information is tucked up inside my idiot brain?

It has become apparent to me that my knowledge is sadly lopsided. You would not want me on your Trivial Pursuit team. I can tell you nothing about sports, or science, or a great deal of pop culture.

I do, however, know that the Cardinal Richelieu ruled France behind the guise of advising Louis XIV right after Louis XIII kicked the royal bucket. I know that if the Virgin Mary in Michelangelo's Pieta stood up, she'd be over nine feet tall. I know that after Beethoven died having finished nine symphonies, composers became superstitious about writing a ninth symphony, believing it would bring their death (Mahler ever gave his ninth a different name, then called his tenth his ninth, and died shortly thereafter. Ha).

I do not, however, know where Rwanda is (I just think it's a cool name, hee hee). I do not know exactly what function a tailback performs for a football team (I'm assuming it involves the backs of tails...?). I have never seen Blues Brothers (I KNOW, shut up! I get that from everyone!), never been outside the country (hardly been outside the state, sheesh).

I realized this today, when I corrected my English teacher about a useless factoid regarding pre-Revolutionary French history, and then couldn't remember the formula for the circumference of a circle in algebra.

I am an odd bird.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante