Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Last Week, a review
2003-01-01 - 9:47 a.m.

Feeling: Silenced
Listening to: Puppy is watching the Strongest Man in Existence contest on TV... whyyyyy?
Reading/Watching: White Oleander

I have laryngitis, and I feel utterly miserable- like a hound dog with clipped vocal cords.

I've been hoarse before, and put on vocal rest by my voice teacher, but this is like God clenched his hand around my throat, wrapping it in cotton and intoning, "Thou shalt not talk." It's painless, but extremely frustrating. I'm going to a good ENT next week to make sure it's just laryngitis and not something far, far more terrifying.

In other news, I went to the optometrist yesterday and walked out with my first pair of *contacts*.

It's so weird, not having frames around my vision anymore, after eight years. Also makes me look in the mirror for the first time, without the luxury of claiming the glasses ruin my looks, and I freely admit, I'm pretty ugly without makeup on. :o�

So I have no glasses, and no voice, and I feel distinctly unlike myself.

I also went to my cousin Lara's wedding. I must say, it's difficult to go to a wedding when you're thinking of someone far away. Seeing the bride dance with her *tall* groom, then trade off with the groom's father, while I muse to myself, "There's only one person's father I know well enough to feel comfortable dancing with him like that." At least lots of people get teary-eyed at weddings, so I didn't have to hide it. I say women should never, ever attend weddings unless they are utterly single with no one in mind, or in love with someone who actually loves them back.

Eh bien. It's easy to get depressed when my speaking voice sounds like a post-menopausal chain-smoker. And with my voice like this, there's absolutely no reason to go back to SA this weekend, since my ostensible reason for going would be to sing at the orthodox church.

As for new year's resolutions? I've learned it's pointless to make any, since the good ones are inevitably disappointed, and the good things that do happen are always surprises.

Now, I'm going to spend fifteen minutes trying to get my contacts in without help.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante