Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Clock in, clock out
2007-03-17 - 9:49 p.m.

Feeling: incensed
Listening to: Three Days Grace
Reading/Watching: Grey's Anatomy

So yes, I am very upset about what happened at work today. And I'm not supposed to discuss it with co-workers, yadda yadda. Which pisses me off.

I originally took this job because the people who worked there seemed extremely cool, especially the manager who first interviewed me, Eve. I figured, if I could work with people like her, I could handle getting paid peanuts and just enjoy my job. I started working, and loved it. The crowd was great, the perks were nice, and I was doing well.

Now, more and more of the people I love to work with are disappearing. As of today, a sign was on the announcement board saying Eve has "left her position." (In truth, the general manager gave her thirty days to either fix her "problems" or find another job, then put a filled-out resignation form on her desk after two weeks, not giving her a choice.) And a lot of the other people I enjoy talking to are looking for other jobs, and have been for a while, due in part to the behavior of the same general manager. Today was the final nail in many coffins, because Eve was very well-liked, and very good at her job.

I don't have any issues (at least not irreconcilable ones) with any of my co-workers or managers. Generally, I try hard to get along with everybody. So if I just keep smiling, I could eventually get promoted into newly vacated spots. But that's not worth a whole hell of a lot to me if all the people I love, all the people who make me look forward to work every day, are leaving.

I'll be stuck with the crowd I can tolerate, but don't really like, and it's back to quietly doing my work, giving the company smile, and doing a lot of reading on my lunch break, rather than lunching with friends and blowing off steam. The last thing I want is yet another "clock in, clock out" type gig. If that's what this is going to become, I'd like to clock in and out at a place that pays a bit more than jackshit-and-a-half.

I'm sorry, I forgot about the raise they gave me. It's now jackshit and three quarters.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante