Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Carrying on
2007-03-22 - 11:43 p.m.

Feeling: ambivalent
Listening to: Rosemary Clooney sing Mambo Italiano, giving me horrid Italian-restaurant-waitress flashbacks
Reading/Watching: The Bookseller of Kabul, by Asne Seierstad

Work is polarizing into people who accepted the manager's "resignation" and people who think it's bullshit.

Since I declared myself to be firmly on the latter team, some people at work who agree with me have become more open about their work concerns and complaints, because they know I'll understand and not rat them out (I kept my allegiances and complaints to myself before). The others, who go about their business and don't get emotionally involved, are the same clock-in-clock-out corporate people who were never emotionally involved to begin with, thus I never knew or liked them much.

It's nice, being trusted with people's worries, but sucks even more knowing that all these people I am getting to know better will be leaving the company soon, because of how unhappy they have been these past few months.

I'm even considering going back to waitressing, just for a while, because it usually averages more than $6.75 an hour with tips. At Macaroni Grill I averaged around $10 an hour, and that was only part-time when I was young and stupid and didn't care about my job at all.

As much as I hated waitressing, I'm considering it. There's a little independent sandwich caf� I love that's only open 8-3 every day, and could leave room for classes or rehearsals whenever I have them.

Not quitting tomorrow or anything, just weighing my options. Trying not to be too dreary. Regardless of what happens, you have to work, you have to keep trying, because life goes on. It has to; the alternative is not an option.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante