Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Same song, different verse.
2003-05-22 - 10:50 p.m.

Feeling: thirsty. orange herbal tea, mm.
Listening to: Evanescence - Fields of Innocence
Reading/Watching: "Dragons of a Fallen Sun," by Weis & Hickman

Okay, so the interview.

I felt somewhat out of place, doing a group interview with a quartet of blonde girls, only one of which was (I think) born that way. Two of them had those long fake buffed nails, and I looked at my paltry scoopy-shaped nails with their chipped edges and wanted to sit on my hands to hide them. All but one of them had previous retail experience- I bonded with the other newbie, and we joked about being crossed off the list immediately: "Nnnnext..." (she was the natural blonde).

It's not that I thought I was too ugly or something, I just felt like a shapely sequoia in a forest of willow saplings. I think I spoke well, and made my strengths known, so if they decide not to hire me, I won't be very upset. I might be too easily embarrassed to sell underwear, anyway.

Plus, getting my check for April from the church job makes me feel slightly less desperate.

I am sure you are all getting rather sick of me discussing the job search (although that is, unfortunately, just about the only thing happening in my life right now), so I'll bring up something else. Miller is taking me to see Miss Saigon on May 31 for my birthday (let's take half a second to bask in how fantastic a present that is...), and we thought my sister could go with us, but turns out she has to work. Would anyone like to go with us? E-mail or call me.

I am currently obsessed with the song by Evanescence, called "Fields of Innocence." It's from their independent release, Origin, which is running for about $150 on e-bay, what with there being only 2500 copies in existence, so I feel absolutely no qualms in downloading the entire darn thing for free (since the band has publicly encouraged it) and burning a copy of it. And it is indeed wonderful. I actually like it better than "Fallen." I've also tracked down (through extreme stubbornness; spoofs of these suckers run rampant) about ten songs that can't be attributed to any album, but they completely blow me away, particularly "Breathe No More" and "Missing."

Here are the lyrics to "Fields of Innocence;" they're haunting enough even without knowing the melody:

I still remember the world from the eyes of a child.
Slowly those feelings were clouded by what I know now.
Where has my heart gone?
An uneven trade for the real world.
Oh I, I want to go back to believing in everything
...and knowing nothing at all.

I still remember the sun--always warm on my back.
Somehow it seems colder now.
Where has my heart gone?
Trapped in the eyes of a stranger.
Oh I, I want to go back to believing in everything.

Where has my heart gone?
An uneven trade for the real world.
Oh I, I want to go back to believing in everything.
Oh where, where has my heart gone?
Trapped in the eyes of a stranger.
Oh I, I want to go back to believing in everything.

I still remember.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante