Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Sweetest Thing
2002-09-12 - 11:37 p.m.

Feeling: Coquettish. It's just such a cool word.
Listening to: My new John Mayer CD arrived! eee!
Reading/Watching: More History of Rasselas

There is nothing more surprising and gratifying than turning an acquaintance into a friend.

I have guidelines, setting the boundary between friends and amiable acquaintances. If they know my phone number, e-mail or IM name by heart, they are friends. If we have ever hung out together, just one on one, we are friends.

If they see me in class everyday, we say hello and exchange witty banter, but rarely if ever see each other off-campus, then they are an amiable acquaintance.

Francesca was one such acquaintance. We talk animatedly when we bump into each other, we are both members of the Society of Poets, we hug hello. We have not actually done anything together as friends. But then we started reading each others' LiveJournals, and realized how much we have in common, and she called me one night, wanting a chat.

About an hour and a half later, bonding over John Mayer music and secret crushes, we finally hung up with the firm agreement that we would hang out sometime, and not in the vague I'm-trying-to-be-your-friend-but-I-don't-have-the-time sort of way.

Tonight we went out to dinner at my restaurant (I haven't waited tables there in over a year, but I still am possessive about it), and had fun giggling and writing poems on the table paper, swearing not to discuss our crushes and then abandoning the vow less than five minutes later because being silly and girly is so much fun when the other person doesn't mind.

Came home with leftovers, a very full stomach, and a new Friend.

'Twas a good day today.

(But Richard told him! Told him! Surfer Boy knows; he is aware; he has been informed; he is no longer blissfully ignorant of the frightening Stalker-Tendencies of Katie! Now that it's all out in the open, I have to be brave and fascinating and unabashed... right after I kill Richard with a plastic spork.)

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante