Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Feh, feh
2003-09-28 - 4:28 p.m.

Feeling: ambivalent
Listening to: "Uva Shofar Gadol" stuck in my head...
Reading/Watching: in need of material... suggestions?

I've been insanely busy, what with Rosh Hoshanna being this weekend (grand total of 14 hours rehearsing/singing over the past 4 days).

Being busy usually gives me absolutely nothing to write about, because you people honestly don't care what goes on in my day, at least not in the hour-by-hour breakdown way (hell, even the people I know in person don't really care to hear that stuff).

High point was receiving a paycheck, low point was standing for five hours straight on Saturday & Sunday mornings in a choir robe, listening to people sing in rapid, off-key Hebrew. One of the readers chanted like a Texan auctioneer. Had to bite my lip on highly disrespectful giggles.

Ambivalent moment was after the service ended today. I intended to slip down the side aisle, quietly shuck my robe and get my purse, and escape in the parking lot before the crowds coagulated into clumps of gibbering smalltalk and blocked the doorways. But a roadblock decided to form right there in front of the side aisle, so I had to take a deep breath and start burrowing down the middle.

Everyone was in a good mood, greeting each other with l'shanah tovah and clasping hands, until I was suddenly mobbed by a cluster of enthusiastic little Jewish grandparents, tiny wrinkled people who insisted on hugging me and kissing me on both cheeks, thanking me for my singing and welcoming me to the synagogue and where have I been all this time, did I just move here, and am I planning on becoming a permanent member of the synagogue?

Okay. Awkward moment.

Since there was trouble when a choir member so much as suspected that I wasn't Jewish, they've been keeping it under wraps, just to keep the peace (what gave it away? was it the red hair, the Aryan last name, or the complete stench of Catholic-schoolgirl-ness?). If word got out that the tall curly-haired soprano is about as Jewish as a pork chop, people might raise a stink about a Gentile standing on the holy bima, singing sacred prayers with the rest of the choir, and receiving money for it.

So I smiled, blushed, was evasive, and even had to outright lie at one point. It made my stomach churn.

It's kind of like the time Bri fibbed to our theology professor about skipping class, and I looked at her with a half-laugh and said, "You just lied to a priest."

Well, I just lied to a rabbi's wife. So what does that make me?

Sigh. I should've just posted quiz results on here, but I was not about to bore you with the fact that I am most like the season Spring, or that I am a "Beautiful" Angel, so... yeah.

Time to go grocery shopping.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante