Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Good, the Bad, the Funny
2005-11-24 - 12:02 a.m.

Feeling: content
Listening to: Vertical Horizon - Angel Without Wings
Reading/Watching: Lost

Reasons Why Living With Mon Coeur is a Good Thing:
1) Coming home late from the gym, I eagerly search the guest parking section (he hasn't got a resident sticker yet) for his car, and grin if I see it there.
2) I also smile when I see lights on in the windows at night.
3) Never again will I have to wake up, get dressed, drive home, shower, get dressed for real, and then go to work.
4) My gas tank lasted through a whole week.
5) We tend to eat out less, and putter around in the kitchen more. (Puttering is cute, and cheap. I like it.)
6) Waking up to see him sleeping there, surrounded by our books and clothes and things, all mingled in together, has resulted in serial morning-cuddling.

Reasons Why I Know We're Living in Reality and Not a Cute Movie:
1) The toilet seat. Is up. Again.
2) Boxes, boxes everywhere, and no room for... well, anything.
3) We had a fight over what to put on a bookshelf. For an hour. Over a bookshelf.
4) He still stays up late playing video games until 2 or 3 a.m. (although now his computer is not in the bedroom, so I can sleep.)
5) Out of the 6 square feet of open carpet space in our room, he likes to decorate one third of it with discarded clothing. Usually they're in a pile less than two feet from the hamper (because there's no room for the hamper to be any further away).
6) He knows I scare easily, and enjoys intentionally startling me, since I jump and shriek like a Malaysian latah. Now that he lives with me, there are more opportunities to exploit explore the possibilities of this (apparently hilarious) idiosyncracy of mine. It makes me want to bop him upside the head.

My mom is still a bit stiff when I talk about setting his things up in my apartment, or when I say "we" will wake up early and "we" will drive to Hometown together (instead of before, where I'd carefully phrase it as if I was getting ready and then picking him up afterward). But I figure she'll come around by Christmas time, and if she doesn't, she'll have to forgive me once I'm a married (and thereby honest) woman, else how will she start piling on the pressure for grandbabies?

So overall, things are good, but there are still annoying moments that remind me that this is real. This is not a silly montage or a musical interlude, this is my life. And my life is good.

It's a nice change. I might come to expect it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante