Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Tag-Teaming and Other Games Parents Play
2002-05-23 - 12:36 p.m.

Feeling: Frustrated
Listening to: Easy Listening Office FM
Reading/Watching: Diet Coke. You love me, don't you? ::sniffle::

Since I promised it yesterday, here I am on lunch break again with the story.

Okay, so my parents. Are experts at Good Cop, Bad Cop. From the beginning of this summer they've honed their skills to perfection, and I've just recently begun to recognize their methods.

Scene: Young Woman calls home to announce the wonderful news that her new job pays over three hundred dollars a week. The Father answers first.

Father: Hello?

Young Woman: Hi, Dad! I've got some great news! etc. (insert bubbly-happy info about employment)

Father: Now don't get too excited yet, remember you owe us a lot of money at the end of this summer.

Young Woman: Yes, Dad, this is why I'm calling to tell you the good news. That I'll be able to pay you back.

Father: (as if not hearing) The car insurance alone is going to be upwards of $2,000 for the year, considering you totaled your last car and already have a record of that wreck in '99.

Young Woman: Yes, I know, but I have $1500 from work-study to help with that. Now, as I was saying, this job is a full-time, temporary position, it goes for 90 days...

Father: Will it last the summer?

YW: Yes. Hence the 90 days part.

F: Because you can't just work for a month and expect it to cover you, especially if you plan to make a payment to me on your new car.

YW: I know, that's why I'm so glad it's a temporary position, so I get full-time without having to work something out at the start of the schoolyear.

F: And don't forget you have rent to pay for.

YW: There's money in my bank account right now to cover that.

F: But you'll be spending this summer. You'll go out with your friends, you'll spend a lot of money.

YW: (wryly) Unless I make a new habit of club-hopping every night, I think I can handle some movies and dinners and stuff.

F: Well just don't go celebrating your wealth this summer, you'll be lucky to break even.

YW: Actually, I did the math earlier, and I should do more than break even. Especially since I go back to work-study in the fall.

F: (still appearing not to hear) And I guess you can use your grandparents' graduation gift if you need it...

YW: (increasingly frustrated) I'm not going to need it, that's the point.

F: Okay, here's Mom, she wants to talk.

Mother: Hi, sweetie. How ya doin'?

YW: Great, actually, I wanted to tell you about the job I got out here...

Mother: I don't understand why you couldn't have just come home and worked at the restaurant again.

YW: I told you, the hours were bad, the pay was unreliable, and I wanted to get away from food service and get some real work experience.

M: But you liked it there!

YW: Not really. (anyone who doubts, go read some entries from last summer. They helped me decide to stay here.)

M: And now you won't get to sing with the choir or do your arias in the restaurant...

YW: But I'm auditioning for a paid church job tomorrow, so I'll still get to sing.

M: Well, I hope you have fun. (in a voice reminiscent of a baked goods commercial) I'll sure miss you. Be sure to visit a lot, all right?

YW: I hope to, since I'll have weekends free and all, thanks to this job that I was happy about when I called...

M: Yes, it's nice, but I still don't understand why you couldn't have just stayed here at home with us.

YW: (sarcasm) Yes, I often wonder myself.

M: And be sure to come home for your birthday, since everyone gets Monday off.

YW: I will, I'm driving over Saturday morning.

M: Okay, then. See you soon! Love you.

YW: Love you, too.

Young Woman hangs up, and collapses onto couch in frustration.

Okay, so maybe y'all don't think it's so bad, since they obviously just care that I don't go down in flames, but part of the point of this is that if I do go down in flames (which I'm pretty determined not to do), it'll be on my own, and not with a Mommy-Daddy cushion to land on. And they hate that.

Side note: So my horoscope says today is a day for romance.

"When one door closes, another opens. Don't be afraid to share your feelings with someone special, and never be afraid to move on if it's not working."

All together now: oh... kay...?

Since there's not a crush in my orbit right now, much less a secondary crush, we can pretty much assert that horoscopes are, and have always been, total BS.

(But if you're a Twin boy and you have something to say to me, I guess now would be the time...?)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante