Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Message to the Googling Briana Stalker
2004-06-10 - 11:38 p.m.

Feeling: defensive
Listening to: Vienna Teng - Mission Street
Reading/Watching: Time of the Twins

It is sometimes very interesting to go through my D-Land stats pages and see where people are finding links to my journal. (Pathetic, yes, but often I need such things to color my sad little day.)

Often I'm found when someone googles song lyrics, or a specific word, and they come across me on accident (although I once had a man looking for program notes on an opera aria I'd mentioned, who stayed and read sixty entries, then wrote me an e-mail. It was highly interesting). Other times, they're looking specifically for me (people have googled Katie's Journal, which is not so specific, and "MegMarch" or "Who needs a shrink", which is very specific). For a brief while, people were searching my journal to buy (or steal) pre-written essays, because of the time I wrote my history essay prompts with silly Eddie-Izzard answers. I'm tempted to go back and edit that entry with, "If you're looking to cheat on your final, perhaps your money would be better applied to purchasing a brain of your very own."

Then there's the wild-card moments. Like the time I was getting a rash of hits from random French sites (I tried to look at them and see where on earth they were linking me, but as my French is rusty, all I could ascertain was that they weren't search engines, which is even weirder), which I think is due to my occasional smattering of what I've dubbed fran-glais, and the title of my Older Entries page, which used to be "C'est la vie. Mais la vie est merde", and is now "Catch up on your backstory."

Just today, someone googled specifically for "megmarch.diaryland.com," then cross-referenced it for the name "Briana." This mildly alarms me. I shared it with Bri, who thinks it's funny and weird, since no one who knows her knows that I have a journal, and very few people who read my journal would actually bother searching it for her name. But still. I have been told to say, "We know who you are, and we are watching you. We're big and mean and buff and we might have weapons. Boo and other scary stuff."

...So if you're the one Google-stalking her (which would be rather stupid, in my opinion, since you could much more easily stalk her by... I just realized I shouldn't finish that sentence) via my journal, you should be afraid. Very afraid. Or pretend to be, at least, out of courtesy.

Part of me is indignant, wondering why no one ever stalks me. Possibly because I just make it too damn easy.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante