Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Rebound
2005-01-26 - 4:15 p.m.

Feeling: stronger
Listening to: Blue Jupiter - Mr. Pinstripe Suit
Reading/Watching: anthropology textbook

The bad:
-Evil Troll-Witch in the Registrar's office says I somehow need to take fourth-semester French to graduate. I thought I'd placed out of all the foreign language I need (hello? CLEP test?), but now they want me to take an advanced-level course when I haven't studied French in 3 years.
The good:
I have an appointment with the dean tomorrow to throw a tantrum until I get an exemption. I missed the testing cutoff for 12 credit hours by one point. If that doesn't work, I've already spoken with the French teacher, who thinks this is a crap deal, and is sympathetic to my cause, should I be thrown into his class the third week of the semester.

The bad:
I was late to choir because of aforementioned meeting with Evil Troll-Witch.
The good:
Dan didn't mind, and on my way in to class I got to hand my program notes to the music dept. secretary for printing.

The bad:
Practicing with my accompanist for an hour today made my voice tired again. We drilled the second half of the recital, ending with the Offenbach that kicked my ass on Monday.
The good:
An elderly priest who lives in the retirement home on campus wandered by the recital hall where we were practicing, and had his aid wheel him into the room to listen. Despite being tired, I did monumentally better with Les oiseaux, and he thanked me with tears in his eyes when I was finished, then promised to come to the recital on Sunday. It made my day.

I've decided that whatever else comes along, I will handle it. There is no other way to approach it, really. There's either 'handle it,' or 'curl into a fetal position and whimper.'

Whimpering isn't good for the vocal cords anyway.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante