Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

No matter the distance, I'm holding your hand
2005-02-08 - 11:10 p.m.

Feeling: harmonious
Listening to: Harbor, of course
Reading/Watching: The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, by Ann Brashares

I spent the better part of last week worrying about getting Kate Callahan's "Breath of a Dream" ready to perform for the Cabaret, and when it came down to the wire, it wasn't ready. And I was upset.

But I had the sheet music for Vienna Teng's "Harbor", thanks to the lovely website, and talked Krynn into singing the harmony with me. It didn't have quite the personal meaning of the Kate Callahan song, but I decided that "Breath of a Dream" is too intimate and snuggly of a song for me to play in front of all those people. I'd rather play that song in a quiet room with a piano, my love, and me.

It wasn't until Krynn and I were standing on stage, the opening chords thundering from the piano, that I realized exactly how fitting the words were for both of us. And during the last chorus, I reached for her hand and squeezed it. She kept turning and grinning at me. The lyrics sang on their own, and it's scary how we blended, how the piano notes rolled and stormed underneath us, how I got so swept into it and we soared. It's still singing under my skin.

We're here where the daylight begins
The fog on the streetlight slowly thins
Water on water's the way
The safety of shoreline fading away

Sail your sea, meet your storm
All I want is to be your harbor
The light in me will guide you home
All I want is to be your harbor.

Fear is the brightest of signs:
The shape of the boundary we leave behind
I'll sing all your questions to sleep
The answers are out there, in the drowning deep

Sail your sea, meet your storm
All I want is to be your harbor
The light in me will guide you home
All I want is to be your harbor.

You've got a journey to make
There's your horizon to chase
So go far beyond where we stand
No matter the distance, I'm holding your hand.

Sail your sea, meet your storm
All I want is to be your harbor
The light in me will guide you home
All I want is to be your harbor.

~ "Harbor" by Vienna Teng. (Download it here.)

It is a damn shame that they forgot to record the concert. It was quite good. But overall, I am happy; the day is ending and all my skin is humming.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante