Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

My Illustrious Employer
2006-09-24 - 12:20 a.m.

Feeling: exhausted
Listening to: Uvashofar Gadol, stuck in my head
Reading/Watching: script for R&J

L'Shanah Tovah.

Today, after the four-hour Rosh Hasanah service ended, Hazzan asked the vocal quartet to join him in the back vestry room for a short discussion.

We exchanged puzzled and/or nervous looks, going over every awkward entrance or wavery tuning moment we had (and in four hours, there's time for many of those, mixed in with the awesome because these singers are incredible). We wondered whether he was going to yell, or gently remind us of something we were forgetting to do.

Hazzan arrived in the back, and said "I wanted you all to join me in a brief tradition. After so many years I now consider you friends, and with friends I celebrate the new year in a certain way..." and out comes a bottle of Dalwhinnie single malt whisky.

This is my boss. He gave me liquor on a semi-empty stomach, clapped me firmly on the back, air-kissed my cheeks and said "Love to the hubby" before I drove home.

Then I spent the afternoon cleaning and resting before heading off to the bookstore for a closing shift. Have I mentioned that the crazy people all shop on Saturday nights? One gentleman held up the line for ten minutes telling me the intimate details of his brother's divorce and how his ex-wife used sex as a weapon. All things I really wanted to know, let me tell you.

On our way out tonight, my manager casually remarked that she had voted for me as Employee of the Month. Then she said "Now get your ass clocked out so we can go home," as the clock read 11:45 (we finished early).

I love working with interesting people. And tomorrow, in my rush between 8:15 warm-ups for jobchurch on through the second day of Rosh Hashanah services 12 to 2, straight through to my shift from 3 to 10 at the bookstore, I will be encountering them all in massive quantities.

I wonder if Hazzan would be willing to give me another shot of whisky.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante