Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Inevitable
2002-10-29 - 12:05 a.m.

Feeling: torn
Listening to: Basque - Somefire
Reading/Watching: Henrik Ibsen - Hedda Gabler

Tomorrow is the official Talk.

Harry called Saturday singing a song he wrote, something about "knowing you is a dream." Damn him for knowing how to make me call him back.

So I called, and we set up a time to talk face-to-face. He must have apologized half a dozen times, just during that twenty minute call. And he asked, "Can I tell you I love you?"

What does a person say to that? The best I could come up with was, "Yes, but I don't think I can say it back."

He said he understood that. And asked me to sing for him- the one I sang for him that very first night. It's called "The Willow Song" from The Ballad of Baby Doe by Douglas Moore. The text is particularly hard for me, when thinking about him- "So far from each other, while the days pass in their emptiness away."

I sang it very softly, and he sighed and thanked me, saying he would sleep better. It kinda strips away all impulse I had to be cruel and rational. Now I'm wondering if it's possible for us to stay friends, after all.

But tomorrow night is The Talk. So what do you wear to break up with someone?

Comments? 4 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante