Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

No more naysayers
2003-05-18 - 10:15 p.m.

Feeling: cornily empowered
Listening to: Evanescence - Holding My Last Breath
Reading/Watching: Harry Potter/Mary Sue fanfics... they're hilarious

Lala, you are so amazing sometimes. Both your entry and the reply to my LJ post really made me feel better.

I like your mom's philosophy. "We'll make it." That actually sounds a lot like my new roommate, Nimsay. She keeps telling me that, and she's proof that it works.

I mean, if she can get a law degree and go out on her own solely on brains and savings, I can get through a summer.

Drew talked me into applying at the furniture store where he works, and I've still got another dozen applications to take back that I picked up over the weekend. If I don't get a decent job? I'll make it. I'll apply to every dive restaurant in town. If they say no? I'll make it. I'll move on to fast food, pizza delivery, garbage pickup, whatever. I know I've paid my dues as far as sweaty, smelly shit-pay summer jobs go, but perhaps I still owe a bit more. If I never get a job? I have savings. I have the church job. I can babysit, I can sing at weddings and receptions, I can mow lawns and walk dogs and get down on my knees and... scrub bathroom floors. (Ha, I knew what you were thinking. Pree-vert.)

I can give up movie theaters, going out to eat, new shoes, and cable TV. I can make half.com and e-bay my best friends and sell off some of my endless supply of CDs and videos. I will pawn my stereo and TV if necessary.

I will make it. I will make it. And if I have to grit my teeth and finally give in and ask my parents for a loan for the first time in my life, well... I will. I will.

And it's a moot point, anyway. I will get a job. I will make it.

Millions of people have done this before me, and managed not to fall flat on their faces. If they can do it, I sure as hell can.

Not going to listen to people's cautionary tales anymore.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante