Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Vanity and Nostalgia
2004-09-07 - 11:55 p.m.

Feeling: musical
Listening to: When Sunny Gets Blue
Reading/Watching: Gilmore Girls

I'm sitting here listening to the first official recording of the jazz combo from last semester, and feeling nostalgic.

The music's not so bad (although the trumpet has difficulty remembering the key signature), and it was one of the few times we were actually thinking together, instead of constantly trying to catch up with each other's tempo. We took our time, pausing and accelerating together, and there are parts where it just clicked. I love listening to it.

The beginning of the year was such a mess, since I was a newbie and the only girl, so I spent the majority of the time sitting off to the side and waiting for a chance to timidly ask if we might run through one of the vocal numbers. On the recording, after a year of working with them, I've learned not to ask. I make them keep up with me, make them wait for me, stop trying to disappear into part of the ensemble when I'm the one with the microphone, dammit. And they listen. The energy shows and I can hear the difference, because I don't sound tense.

So now it's a new year, I have this fun little recording, and I'm with an entirely new group, so that I can start all over. Yay.

Listening to this makes me want to sing at the top of my lungs, which is probably inadvisable at midnight. Oh, the cruelty of a diurnal world.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante