Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Good Grief (Messing with Charlie Brown's head)
2000-10-17 - 18:06:35

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Ever made up a crush (or, in any event, played up a crush) to make another crush jealous or more interested or just plain throw them off the scent?

Because I think that's what I'm doing and I feel like a retard. And like one of those evil-eyed women on soap operas who live to make the evil-person organ music play. But c'mon, I've never had anyone be jealous over me before. It'd be... kinda cool, right?

He was just getting far too sure of me. I'm moderately certain that he knows I like him. And either he finds it amusing (which would be extremely insulting) or intriguing. I'm hoping for the latter, can you tell? If I can be intriguing, this is a good thing. And if he thinks he has to work harder to keep my attention, that's also a good thing. Besides, he has a crush on someone else (or so he said) and that didn't stop me.

So if he gets flirtier, yayness. If he gets friendlier in a depressingly platonic way, I'll know it's relief that I don't like him anymore, and I'll slap some sense into myself and get over him. If he gets distant in a jealous way I'll know it's because he wanted all my attention without intending to return it, which is just uncool. If he gets distant because he thinks I don't like him anymore and he doesn't want to interfere between me and my new "crush", then... well, crap. I'd be screwed, basically.

Why am I doing this? I don't like to play games. I'm not a mess-with-his-head, keep-him-wrapped-around-my-pinkie-finger type. I feel like one of those women I see on old episodes of Melrose Place that I like to call The SuperB!tch. Yikes. I just need a haughty head-toss and a wicked, seductive laugh and I'm all set. The only reason I'm resorting to this is that subtlety didn't work. Directness didn't work. Trying to be just friends and let things happen slowly didn't work.

The other guy is cute, though. He just has a girlfriend. And a very nice pair of deep blue eyes. I don't mind talking about them... I just happened to mention them in Charlie Brown's presence.

He didn't really talk to me at all today. Didn't even glance over. Kept chatting with his crush.

Well, crap. I guess I'm screwed.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante