Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

About Strange Lands and People
2005-12-06 - 7:42 p.m.

Feeling: thoughtful
Listening to: Honeyflood - The Rest of My Life
Reading/Watching: Gilmore Girls

Mon coeur came to me all serious, saying that he's looking seriously into the jobs-after-the-military thing, so that he can find something decent that pays well right away, and not be unemployed and searching come October.

Apparently, all the decent security-clearance type jobs (which he is most qualified for) are not in Texas. And he is feeling anxiety about asking me to leave Texas, since all my grad school choices are here.

It gives me a little bit of anxiety, mostly because I'm a homebody, and I loves me some Lone Star State. I've spent my entire life living in Hometown and Schoolville, which are within 200 miles of each other. I am fiercely proud of being a big city brain with a country girl's heart, growing up in the land where cowboy hats can be worn without irony, and you slip into a nice, comfy drawl around family members the way some people slip into fuzzy slippers.

But I've dreamed of travel, thought about how wonderful it would be to live further North, where the magic thing called snow happens more often than once every twelve or fifteen years. I've read about cities in the Northeast and drooled over the music, the art, the museums, the history, the everything.

So mon coeur tells me that most of the jobs are to the East, either in New England or down in Virginia and Georgia. He hurriedly added that it wouldn't necessarily be forever, that we could live and work and save for four or five years and come back to where we want to live.

It made me grin. He was so, so worried, not realizing that I was actually excited at the prospect. Now I'm planning and thinking and dreaming about researching colleges in whichever place we end up, finding a decent music program and finishing school there, then going off to work while he goes into night school and gets his own degree.

It's exciting. It's scary. In some ways, I can't wait to leave, and see things I've never seen before.

Although I made him promise that if we go that far away, it has to be for a job that earns enough for a trip to California and Texas every year for the holidays. Because I don't want to be stranded across the country and unable to come back.

I'm getting married. To this man. I can't wait for the rest of our lives to happen.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante