Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

My New Friend
2005-07-27 - 8:29 p.m.

Feeling: self-deprecating
Listening to: television
Reading/Watching: Lost

There is something severely wrong with me.

Today, when making copies of sheet music for my students, I realized I'd forgotten my wallet at home, and was incredibly embarrassed. The nice guy working behind the counter comforted me, saying I should just come back when I found it, and talk to him. He told me he was Larry, and smiled, and I thanked him and scampered off.

I ran home, picked up my wallet off the counter, and headed back to Kinko's. I used my credit card to finish making my copies, then went back to Larry and pulled out a ten dollar bill, saying I would pay for the previous copies and put the rest on a pre-paid card, so I'd never have that problem again.

He smiled again, and told me he'd just put all the money on a card, and wouldn't charge me for the other copies. "You seem like a very nice, honest person. And you're sweet."

And this is why something is wrong with me: I immediately interpreted his eye contact and smile as scary-stalker-code for "I'm going to follow you home and sniff in your underwear drawer while you're sleeping."

It's not so much that I don't believe people are nice... I just don't trust them to be nice to me. Especially if they're male, and I suspect them of flirting, in which case they are clearly weird and creepy and desperate.

I'm just... I'm dumb. I need to stop doing that. And I need to remember to bring my wallet.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante