Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

After the Tornado
2008-05-23 - 4:34 a.m.

Feeling: ridiculously awake
Listening to: the way 4:30 a.m. sounds
Reading/Watching: well, I was watching Frasier season 9, but now I'm just here.

Last night was our final concert and I still can't fucking sleep.

My brain will not shut up; it is combing over every detail of every song, everything that was fine, everything that was great, and everything that pissed me off (such as the eighth-graders in my "advanced" choir getting up on stage and standing there with their arms crossed and their mouths closed for the entire song).

And while I was making the copies of the concert program, somebody kicked a huge spiderwebby crack in the outside door to my classroom building (as in, if there weren't honeycomb mesh in the glass to hold it together, it would have shattered everywhere). I love the smell of juvenile delinquency in the evening.

But in the end, we have now survived our educational requirements for the entire year, including contest, Solo & Ensemble (15 Superior ratings! w0ot!), and three concerts planned, organized, and conducted by yours truly. Today the (good) kids get to go on a trip to Six Flags, and I have enough chaperones to watch the kids without having to do it myself. Hopefully, I'll just be able to chill and wander from group to group with the band & mariachi directors, enjoying myself. No pressure at all.

So why can't I sleep?

Because of three reasons:

a) My brain has not adequately informed my adrenal gland that we are finished now.
b) My dog thinks it's fun to hop on the bed and flop on top of my head to sleep, and if I shove her off, she tends to lie there and wriggle around, occasionally kicking me in the nose or eyeball.
c) The vice principal was talking to me after the concert about good ideas for organizing the kids into their chaperone groups and how to keep tabs, prevent injuries at the park, etc, and now I'm all anxious again.

Gahh! At least tomorrow is my birthday. Believe me when I say that I will be forcing myself to relax by way of liquid joy. And karaoke.

P.S.- I'm done! I'm done I'mdoneI'mdoneI'mdone!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante