Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Constant, the bailing of water
2010-11-08 - 9:24 p.m.

Feeling: overloaded
Listening to: Radiohead - Karma Police
Reading/Watching: --

Now that I'm back in the enforced habit of blogging every day, my mind is beginning to obediently construct threads of ideas in blog form. Something will happen, and I'll think "Okay, so the opening statement will go like this..."

I would be very interested to see how many entries out of the 1400+ begin with the non-sequitor, "Okay, so..."

I'd estimate upwards of 100. I am exceptionally fond of that phrase.

Today was long, and tiring. I made a lot of phone calls, wrote a lot of e-mails, jotted a lot of notes in my calendar. Basically, I tried to make up for the distraction I fogged under last week. Sure, a death in the family makes a perfect excuse, but eventually I'm backlogged and no one can dig me out but me (as is usually the case).

That's a weird life philosophy to operate under, by the way. Whenever things get ugly, "no one can dig me out but me." Tends to induce panic when the load gets heavy.

Today the load feels heavy. I would need another two weeks of the kind of day I just had, in order to truly feel on top of it. There's never enough time.

I should get used to the idea, one of these years. My reach always exceeds my grasp, I pile on too many things to do, and there is never enough time. Maybe once I accept it, I'll stress about it less.

Good lord, it's only Monday.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante