Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Lost in Transition
2009-07-25 - 6:51 p.m.

Feeling: contemplative
Listening to: Zero 7 - In the Waiting Line
Reading/Watching: True Blood, season 1

Re-watched Lost in Translation for the first time in years... I remember thinking it was amazing, although quiet and subtle. Not a party movie. It's part of why I had such a goofy crush on Bill Murray for a while (for that, and his other film, Broken Flowers). I also had a goofy crush on Tokyo.

I always wanted my own Bob Harris, so I could rest my head on his shoulder. Although I'm no Scarlett Johansson, so perhaps my chances are somewhat diminished.

This summer, a slow-burning friendship started flaring into the "other" category. I think we were both taken by surprise, and scared out of our wits. It's part of the reason for my reluctance to talk about him. I like keeping our progress glacially slow, even though Bear rags on me for putting a "time barrier" on it.

If you want to understand the strange, quiet camaraderie between us, watch Lost in Translation. Because that's exactly what it is. (Side note: he loves the movie, and brought it up first, which made me have a bit of a silly heart attack.)

...not that he looks like Bill Murray. His face is much smoother, on account of being a good 20 years younger.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante