Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Solely because I am still awake
2008-08-07 - 4:00 a.m.

Feeling: AWAKE, dammit
Listening to: Across the Universe - Jim Sturgess - Something
Reading/Watching: --

I probably wouldn't be doing this if it wasn't so very late and I could finally SLEEP, but my brain simply refuses to stop doing its crazy multitasking thing, so I am streamlining it into a pointless creative effort in hopes that it will dribble out its last bits of ADHD and let me get at least 3 hours of shut-eye.

"Lost"

Somewhere in the cracks
(Between blocks of useful time:
spent making, building, doing, following, obeying)
There are slivers of waste
Leaking rebellious droplets, bright and sharp
In which I was not right
Was not proper
Was not brick, but frivolous foam--
Delicious moments
Silly and heady, and gone too soon.

Beneath the ocean of staunch progress
of work, of virtue, of faith, of good
(rimed with elbow grease
and grindstone abrasions)
is that wicked drip-pan
Catching all my almosts
The slips of the loyal hand, derailed by a frisky fingertip

Dip ever so lightly in that puddle
A drop
(Maybe two)
Each will taste like lightning
A wild, strange tang
Bringing the sting of shame
And the thrill of secret
And perhaps, the subversive wish
To wedge that crack
Just a millimeter
Wider.

P.S.- This really isn't a request for critiques or anything, I just wanted to put something out in the universe to quiet the schizophrenic speakeasy in my head.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante