Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Not exactly a coach-and-four, but it beats the hell out of a pumpkin.
2004-08-08 - 9:07 p.m.

Feeling: bouncy
Listening to: Josh Groban - Mi Mancherai
Reading/Watching: The Two Towers, by JRRT

Quote of the day: I was given the gift of breasts by God. But the gift for accidentally dipping them in crap is all me.

Nimsay, mon coeur and I went tramping across the globe today, into bookstores and bath stores and restaurants, giggling and having fun. I bought three books (The Devil Wears Prada, Running With Scissors, and Wicked, whee!), a sheet set, lunch, and an ice cream cone, and I think perhaps I need to work on this saving-money thing, since I have little practice with it.

I also managed to end the day wearing equal portions of ketchup (from french fries) and chocolate ice cream, both in very awkward locations. (I really think my talent for advertising the menu on my clothing is some sort of payback for all the times I was a kid and gave my mother fits trying to get mud, grass, and occasionally blood out of my clothes. I used to say I didn't care if my clothing was stained, and now that I'm older and I do care, it's coming back to haunt me.)

On Friday, mon coeur got a car: a slightly-used pretty black Chrysler Sebring. Saturday, I took him back to the dealership to finish up the paperwork, and today, he drove me around. I felt like such a princess.

Is it sad that this is the first time I've ever ever had a boyfriend with a car? Chris took me to prom in his dad's station wagon. Harry was completely carless: he used the bus to get around. Quincy got a car exactly two weeks after we broke up. I was beginning to think it would never happen.

Since the car has a CD player and mon coeur has no CDs (I repeat: the boy. has NO. CDs. Nor records, nor tapes. I don't know how he does it), I made him a mix CD (which is becoming my trademark, apparently, since I've made mixes for Drew, Bri, Satan, and this will be mon coeur's second from me).

The first time I made him a mix, I was a whole two weeks into our relationship, so naturally I was starry-eyed and putting some of my mushiest, sweetest, most-likely-to-induce-vomiting love songs on there, and now that we're nearly six months along, I know a bit more about his specific music tastes. I put together things I knew he liked, things he'd commented on previously when they came up on my playlist, and a few things he'd never heard before that I thought he might like. Then, for fun, I stuck on a few songs he already knew, including Enigma's Boum Boum, which he says he used to play when he was thinking of me, back before he had the guts to let me know.

So, driving back from our day of shopping, we're listening to the mix CD and we hit my street just as Boum Boum comes on. We had the same idea, to circle the block until it was over, and so we wandered neighborhood streets, listening to the song, and at one point his hand slipped across the seat and he twined his fingers with mine.

So yeah, good day. Ketchup stains and all.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante